The signs of the zodiac are grouped according to temperament by the four basic elements

Fire signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius These signs are fiery, ardent, enthusiastic, spontaneous, self-sufficient, and romantic.  Misused, they can be bossy and too forceful.

Earth signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn These signs are practical, earthy, dependable, conservative, and sensual.   They love material comforts and have good recuperative powers.  Misused, they can be dull and too materialistic.

Air signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius These signs can communicate well; they tend to be intellectual, and they are able to handle abstract reasoning.  They are logical, broadminded, objective, idealistic, and unprejudiced.  Misused, they can be cold and impractical.

Water signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces These signs are feeling, sustaining, and receptive. They are emotional, intuitive, responsive, sensitive, and deep.  They tend to be susceptivle to moods, and are easily influenced by the environment.  Misused these signs can be self-indulgent, self-pitying, and wavering .